Our Fight Is Not With People


“We Wrestle Not Against Flesh And Blood” Ephesians 6:12.

good-and-evil-light-dark-angels-demons-desktop-1024x768-wanted-wallpaper

Many Christians think that their enemy is other people, but as Ephesians 6:12 explains, they are not. In. Our enemies are not homosexuals, nor are they the members of ISIS. They are not drug dealers, nor are they gang members. They are not prostitutes or pimps. They are not abusive spouses, nor are they pedophiles.

People are our territory to reclaim. The word says that Jesus did not come to destroy the world but that the world would have life. His mission was loving others, and our mission is to do the same. We reclaim these people through God’s love radiating through us.

I bet that now you are wondering how I could say this. You are thinking that I am crazy and that I don’t know what I am talking about. You are thinking about all the bad things that people do and how evil the people that I mentioned above really are.

Our Enemies Are Spiritual Beings

Our enemies are spiritual beings that influence people. It is important that we learn that people are not the problem, but the spirits that influence those people are the problem. Once we learn to separate the people from the spiritual influence, we are in a position to fight the good fight. We learn who to cast out and who to love. We can learn to love the person and hate the sin. As the Bible says, we separate the marrow from the bone.

When I was in the Navy, I was a hospital corpsman with the specialty of neuro-psychiatric technician. My job for over five years was to take care of acutely ill psychiatric patients. Many of these patients told me about some occult spiritual experiences that they had. Others told me about the voices in their heads and how they would talk them into believing certain things.

Because I understood that what these people were experiencing was a spiritual attack rather than from that person’s character, I was never afraid of the person. (Nor was I afraid of the spiritual influence because  greater is he that is in me than he that is in the world.) I had this uncanny ability to go up to a frantic confused, combative psychotically influenced individual and calm him down. I did it numerous times.

Other people that I worked with thought that I was foolish and flirting with danger, but I knew I was not in danger and I cared about the person that I was confronting. The most important thing was that the person that I confronted knew it too. The psychotics  knew that I not only wanted them to be safe and that I would help them be safe.

Relearning How To Love

Our greatest weapon against our real enemy is to love the people around us. good-and-evil-light-dark-angels-demons-desktop-1024x768-wanted-wallpaperI am not as loving a person as I would like to be, like the Ephesians of Revelation 2, I have left my first love. When I was at my Dad’s funeral almost a year and a half ago, I started awakening to this fact. Fortunately, we have a God who is forgiving and wants to lead us in the right direction. All we need to do is turn back toward him.

This learning to love taught me that I needed to first learn to love myself and see myself and God sees me. Then I needed to realize that I am not alone in needing love. Everyone needs to know that they are loved, and that leads me to where I am right now. God loves us. He wants to bless us with his love. All we have to do is ask. If we want more, we must give what we have been given.

2014-04-07 07.07.08

 

Donna Brown is an ordained minister. As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues. Her upcoming book A Coward’s Solace will be available soon. Click here for more information about Cygnet Brown and her books.

 

2 comments
  1. I can easily tell you who my number one enemy was in the past….me. As soon as I reconciled with me, it became infinitely easier to love. 🙂

  2. 1authorcygnetbrown said:

    I can see where that is true for me too.I often have had a voice in my head that would tell me how useless it thought that I was. That voice was the voice of a liar.

Leave a Reply

