Changes in My Schedule


A Change For The Better

pencil-icon

My daughter told me the other day that she hates change. I however have learned that change is the only constant so I have learned to take change in stride. My job schedule has changed so that instead of working six days per week, I am working seven days, however, I am working fewer hours per day. Friday and Saturdays I am only working three hours per day and with both of these jobs, if for some reason I cannot come in that day, I can just call in or change the day easily with another person. I will have much more flexibility with writing.  On the days when I used to work twelve hour shifts, I now work just seven and there are fewer responsibilities as well.

Changing my work pattern will be interesting in that I have more time in the mornings and in the evenings most days. It will actually open up more time to write during my best hours which is what a writer really needs. I also still have evenings clear. Three more evenings than I had on the ole schedule. I am smiling.

Final cover for A Cowards SolaceI have been thinking about what I want to write in this blog next month. One thing I have to do is finish the re-edits on my book When God Turned His Head. I hope this is the last re-edit I will have to do on that book. A lot of people who have read the book like the context of the book, but almost everyone has commented on the fact that there is a lot of typos in the book. Thanks to one of my beta reader, that should change.

Another thing that I am planning to work on next month is to work on creating my business plan. I am seriously, increasingly considering my writing as a business and a business needs a good business plan. I got a book that I am reading that is really good for this and next month I plan to share it as I develop my business plan.

Another thing that I have been thinking about stepping up my online marketing.One thing that I intend to do is to work on developing twitter tweets related to the history and characters in my books and connect my website and here in my blog. I will probably connect Facebook too because a lot of my friends find my trivia questions interesting. I have had more traffic with my trivia questions than I did with almost anything else. We will see how that works out.

As things move forward, it is time, actually, probably past time for me to look ahead and find online reviewers for A Coward’s Solace. I have to tell you that finding people to review A Coward’s Solace creates anxiety for me because I am not certain how the book will be received by other people and that makes me nervous. I, of course, think that my book is a wonderful creation. I hope others feel that way, but like my children, I am prejudice toward my own creation. So right now, while I am finishing the final preparations for my book launch, I am also working on finding these reviewers and asking them what they think. I have done this before so I know the drill. I am learning to have a thick skin.

If you are interested in reviewing my book, please let me know by replying below. I will get back with you with a free e-copy of Book III of The Locket Saga: A Coward’s Solace..

IMG_8330 final copy

 

Donna Brown is an ordained minister. As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues. Her upcoming book A Coward’s Solace will be available soon. Click here for more information about Cygnet Brown and her books.

2 comments
  1. Billybuc said:

    Yes, I think it’s about time you consider your writing to be a business. 🙂 I’m glad you finally came to the realization.

    • 1authorcygnetbrown said:

      I have always wanted to earn my living as a writer, but I have never until recently made the switch to learning what it takes to call it a business.

Leave a Reply

