Business Plan: Product Information Pages


My most recent novel has its own product page!

My most recent novel has its own product page!

For each book that I have written, I have a product information page. This page has the name of the book, plus a picture of the front cover of the book. On this page I also include information regarding what formats that I have the book in. In addition, I include the  ISBN number (print book) as well as the ASIN number (Kindle) (and is there one for other e-book formats?

Product Information in One Convenient Location

One purpose for all of this information is so that I have all of the product information all in one place. Because I want to have all information about this product one location, I add all documentation regarding this book on this page including descriptions from back cover as well as from Amazon or any other site that I use a product description.

Another thing I do is I document here locations where I have marketed this book and categorize the locations by local, regional, national, international, and online. I also include financial documentation of this particular book.

I also document the reviews each book has and who reviewed it.  I then summarize the number of reviews that I have of the book and the overall impression that people have of that book.

Keeping Track of the Numbers

Although as a solopreneur of print and e-books I may not keep up to the moment track of every product, I try to keep for each product information that states how much I made last year on that particular book and how much I have made to date up to a specific time this year. This kind of information I would try to update about once per month.

What Product Information Page Does For My Business

With this information, I can see how well each particular book is doing.  If, for instance, the book is not doing well, I figure out why it isn’t. Perhaps the book isn’t as good as it should be and needs major editing (like happened with my first novel: When God Turned His Head). Perhaps I don’t have the book in enough markets yet. Perhaps I haven’t been marketing this book into the right markets. Perhaps I need to include paid ads. Perhaps I have not been promoting the book online, perhaps I have saturated the whole English speaking world with this book and need to translate it into other languages in order to make sales, or perhaps it’s time to stop focusing on that book all together. Two reasons exist in why a book should be removed from circulation permanently. First is that it is no longer relevant or I’ve totally saturated the market. Since I have not yet saturated the world with any of my books to date, that last option naturally does not come into play.

IMG_8330 final copy

Donna Brown is an ordained minister. As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues, and most recently, A Coward’s Solace, Book III of the Locket Saga.For more information about Cygnet Brown and her book, check out her website at http://www.cygnetbrow.com .

2 comments
  1. Billybuc said:

    All good suggestions. It seems to me you are dong everything correctly. Best of luck to you!

    • If you ever see anything you think I should change, I would love to hear it. (I promise not to shoot the messenger!)

Leave a Reply

