Affirmation: I write the whole first draft of a novel every November


bookshelf

NaNoWriMo has become a tradition for me. For the past five years I have won NaNoWriMo every year and I intend to make this year number seven.
NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. It is a challenge actually and the challenge is to write a fifty thousand word first draft in thirty days. The object is to write straight through without stopping until you reach the 50 K. No editing. No stopping. Just write write write until you are done.
I started yesterday on the first draft. I have written for today already as well. So far I have (how many) words written. I am off to a great start.
Am Prepared to Write First Draft
I have a confession to make. Because I write historical Christian romantic fiction, I don’t actually start working on the novel on the first of November. Instead, I begin my character sketches, my book outline, and do my research well in advance of the event. This gives me the foundation in order to quickly write the first draft of the novel during the month.

IMG_8330 final copy

Donna Brown is an ordained minister. As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues, and most recently, A Coward’s Solace, Book III of the Locket Saga.For more information about Cygnet Brown and her book, check out her website at http://www.cygnetbrow.com .

 

2 comments
  1. Billybuc said:

    It’s always good to hear how other writers do it. I applaud your determination to do an entire first draft in a month.

Leave a Reply

