Planning My Work and Working My Plan


success sign post

Where did the saying Planning your Work and Working Your Plan Originate?

We have all heard this saying at one time or another. One of the earliest examples that we have for this saying is in an article written by Reverend Weber A. Hall, in N. W. Christian Advocate in 1887. I recently read the article http://www.barrypopik.com/index.php/new_york_city/entry/plan_your_work_and_work_your_plan/ and Reverend Weber attributes that saying to his friend Brother G. This past year I have learned that planning my work and working my plan has been highly effective in producing books.

I Discovered my Strengths and Weaknesses by Having a Plan and Working It

During this year, I have been planning my work and working my plan on a total life makeover. I developed myself as a person and in the process, I have developed a business plan that has helped me develop insight into what I know and what I still need to learn about my writing business. I have learned that I am a highly productive writer and that I can encourage others in being able to do the same.
I have also figured out that my strengths have a lot to do with the fact that I am a very productive writer. I am a highly productive writer because I follow this idea of planning my work and working my plan in producing my books. I follow very specific processes for writing fiction and nonfiction.
My weaknesses are in marketing my books. I found that I have been so focused this past year on production and getting the business basics done that I haven’t been spending the amount of time marketing my craft that I should be spending. This I intend to change this year.

Blogging my Plan

This coming year I intend to use my blog both to share my strengths and improve my marketing skills.
Recently I read that Mondays and Fridays are not good days to post blogs. Mondays are too busy, and on Fridays, most people try to cut out early. Therefore, I am changing my blogging days from Monday, Wednesday, and Friday to Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. On Mondays I will share blogging posts related to my strengths. Wednesdays will continue to be my Christian blog post. And finally on Thursdays I will blog about what I have researched learned about book marketing.
At the end of August 2015, I started a writer’s group here and of the members who are part of this group, several of us are interested in better developing our book marketing skills Over the course of the next year, we will be sharing and developing these skills. I intend to share what I learn about book marketing on my blog. I also hope that I will be able to share some of my successes too.

IMG_8330 final copy

Donna Brown is pastor at Faith in God Church in Brandsville, Missouri.  As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues, and most recently, A Coward’s Solace, Book III of the Locket Saga.For more information about Cygnet Brown and her book, check out her website at http://www.cygnetbrow.com .

2 comments
  1. Billybuc said:

    Blessings to you, my friend. I don’t believe in good or bad luck; I do believe in making good things happen through attitude and hard work….exactly what you are doing.

    • Thank you! Blessings to you too! I have learned so much this past year and I am now beginning to see the results of what I have been learning! Yes, attitude makes all the difference!

Leave a Reply

